South East London is a fascinating place with a lot of history, and so today Lisa goes to Shooter's Hill, just a little bit further than Well Hall Pleasaunce, to visit Severndroog Castle.
Severndroog Castle is a tower situated in Oxleas Woods, Shooter's Hill, in the Royal Borough of Greenwich. Built on one of the highest points in London, the impressive 18th century building is community-run and offers an historical visitor experience. The viewing platform gives some of the most spectacular views in London, while the Castle offers an events porgramme throughout the year.
Severndroog Castle's opening times are 12:30 - 4.30 on Thursdays, Fridays, and Sundays, throughout April to October, while from October 30 until March 24 it will be open on the same days, but between 11am and 3pm. See the website, www.severndroogcastle.org.uk/ for further information.
The viewing platform is accessible by a spiral staircase of 86 steps and then a further climb. As the building is listed, unfortunately wheelchair access is limited to the ground floor, which is where the Castlewood Tea Room is located. The Team Room is open throughout the week apart from Mondays and Tuesdays.
The Castle is a folly designed by architect Richard Jupp, with the first stone laid on 2 April 1784. It was built to commemorate Commodore Sir William James who, in April 1755, attacked and destroyed the island fortess of Suvarnadurg (Anglicised as Severndroog). On his death in 1783, his widow Lady James, built the castle as a memorial. The tower was visible from her home, Park Farm Place, in Eltham.
Anne Goddard was born into a wealthy family, and married William James in 1765, when he was 42 and she was in her early twenties.
Check us out on Twitter: https://twitter.com/linalikesstuff
We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/LINA-Likes-This-580587575429444/
Find us on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/linalikesstuff/
We have a Blog! https://t.co/RTsjUkORE2